Rabu, 16 Februari 2011

Flogging Molly Green 17 Tour

Flogging Molly will be bringing their 7th annual 'Green 17 Tour' to the Fillmore in Detroit on March 3. The 'Green 17 Tour' came into existence in 2004 as a countdown to St. Patrick's day. The tour has become a tradition and staple event for the band and the fans each year.

Flogging Molly is a band that rocks high voltage, dizzyingly energetic Celtic music and they put their own spin on it. Their sound fuses old world Celtic music with modern day punk rock. The band is 7 members strong with Dave King on lead vocals, Dennis Casey on electric and acoustic guitar, Matthew Hensley plays accordion, concertina, and piano, Nathan Maxwell on bass, Bridget Regan on violin, tin whistle, classical guitar, and uilleann pipes, Robert Schmidt on mandolin, mandola, tenor banjo, and five string banjo, and George Schwindt on drums. That is a lot of instruments! All band members sing backup vocals and King also plays acoustic and electric guitar.

The band is currently working on an upcoming release for this year and new songs from the forthcoming album will be performed during the tour. Their prior album Float debuted at #4 in 2008 on the Billboard Top 200 and #1 on the Billboard Independent Albums Chart. 

For more info on Flogging Molly visit http://www.floggingmolly.com/

Flogging Molly - 3/3, 6:30 p.m. - The Fillmore, 2115 Woodward - Detroit - (313)961-5451 - www.livenation.com - $35.25 & $47.20 - Click here for tickets

Rabu, 09 Februari 2011

Hollywood Undead Live Review

Hollywood Undead played the Kellogg Arena on Friday night sharing the stage with New Medicine, Stone Sour, and Avenged Sevenfold. This California rap-rock outfit brings the noise and then some with their in your face lyrics and crushing beats. Their live show is a charismatic carnival of energy and the band members each wear crazy tripped out looking masks. The masks were donned for the first three songs and were taken off for the remainder of the set. The zany antics of the guys on stage got the crowd revved up and everywhere that you looked you could see fans singing along and rocking to the beat. The drummer was showing some Detroit love by wearing a Defend Detroit shirt. Defend Detroit is a local clothing company that sells their wares in a number of different locations around the Metro-Detroit area.

Hollywood Undead's debut album Swan Songs came out in 2008 and reached #22 on the Billboard 200 in the first week of its release. They are currently working on their follow-up album American Tragedy which is due to come out soon. They have released a single from the new album called "Hear Me Now" which is currently in rotation on 89X. The guys that make up this wild fusion of sound are Danny, Funny Man and Johnny 3 Tears on vocals, Charlie Scene on lead guitar and vocals, J-Dog works it with rhythm guitar, keyboards, synths, vocals and bass, and Da Kurlzz hits hard on the drums.

For more info on Hollywood Undead visit http://www.hollywoodundead.com/

Full Setlist:
1. Undead
2. Sell Your Soul
3. Battle and a Gun
4. City
5. Paradise Lost
6. Hear Me Now
7. Everywhere I Go

Check out full photo slideshow on Examiner.com: Hollywood Undead Live Review & Photos - Detroit Music | Examiner.com http://www.examiner.com/music-in-detroit/hollywood-undead-live-review-photos#ixzz1DWU40tZa