Senin, 26 Juli 2010

Avenged Sevenfold: 'Nightmare' Album Review

When Avenged Sevenfold lost their drummer Jimmy Sullivan (The Rev) in December of last year they lost a friend, a brother, and an integral part of their band and family. At first the shock of losing The Rev put everyone at a stand still, how could they go on after his passing away? Then they realized that Jimmy would never want them to stop on his behalf and out of love and respect for him they carried on. What transpired was the creation a heartbreaking masterpiece with raw emotion and dark shadows laced throughout and it is absolutely spellbinding. 
“It’s about how we were feeling at the time and are still feeling,” Shadows says. “When it first happens it’s much more intense. I realize now that we’re going to have to live with it and it’s never going to go away. The record is a lot different than if we hadn’t opened ourselves up right when it happened. We were more vulnerable and willing to put it out on the line.”
The Rev had played an integral role in writing the album and just days before he died, he'd completed the song "Fiction" that now seemed to have foretold his own death and assured his friends in no uncertain terms that they had to carry on. “I know you’ll find your own way, when I’m not with you tonight,” Sullivan wrote.
It was “Fiction,” the song The Rev had just finished, that helped lift any doubts about carrying on.
“He wouldn’t have wanted us to stop, and if it had been any one of us, it would be the same,” says bassist Christ. “Especially since he had written the song. ‘Fiction’ is one hundred percent his. You want people to hear how brilliant Jimmy really was, his songwriting as well as drumming. A lot of people know how great a drummer he was, but few know what a big part he played in the writing.”
From the first notes of the elegiac bells on the title track "Nightmare" to the epic ending track "Save Me" this album runs deep with passion that electrifies the auditory senses and draws you into Avenged Sevenfold's Nightmare.
Full Track Listing:
1. Nightmare
2. Welcome To The Family
3. Danger Line
4. Buried Alive
5. Natural Born Killer
6. So Far Away
7. God Hates Us
8. Victim
9. Tonight The World Dies
10. Fiction
11. Save Me

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar